The fifth and final match too took a turn in the last five overs just like the last two T20s and New Zealand needs to work on the way they play in death overs.

Hitman Rohit Sharma captained the team today in the absence of Virat Kohli

Rohit and Rahul take India to 163

KL Rahul scored a crucial inning of 45 of 33 balls hitting 2 sixes and 4 fours. Sanju Samson, once again got out early at 2 while Rohit Sharma ended up making 60 of 41. Sharma was retired hurt and did not return back to the field. Shreyas Iyer hit 33 of 31 while Manish Pandey stood the ground at 11* of 4. India took it 163/5 in 20 overs, which seemed easy for New Zealand.

New Zealand once again succumb to pressure

The game once again unexpectedly fell into India’s hand when the Kiwis succumbed to pressure in death overs. Ross Taylor walked in at 17/3 and took the game forward. Taylor 53 of 47 while Tim Siefert scored 50 of 30. Siefert’s wicket by Navdeep Saini was the game-changing moment for the match. Then wickets fell down in a cluster after the 17th over. Shardul Thakur once again took two crucial wickets which put the other side under tremendous pressure. Ross Taylor’s wicket at the hands of Navdeep Saini was the last nail in the coffin for the Kiwis.

It was Shardul Thakur who changed the fate of the game

India won by 7 runs. Jasprit Bumrah took 3 wickets giving away just 12 runs and was named the player of the match while KL Rahul was awarded the player of the series. Rahul took on the responsibility of captaining the side when Rohit Sharma got retired hurt, very well.

A new milestone for India

India has become the first-ever team to whitewash a five-match series. And this is the first time India has won a T20 series in New Zealand. This is a great sign for the upcoming T20 world cup and New Zealand needs to look at where the things go wrong.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This